What is Britishness?

For my latest project at university, I have to produce a printed typographic piece about Britishness and what I perceive it to me. I focused on the weather, and combined it with language as they were both things that interested me about British culture. After a few experiments I started developing this idea (click to view full size), showing an excerpt of a conversation regarding the weather. It incorporates both the weather and the way we talk about it (“pour” is a colloquial way of saying it’s raining and a phrase that we use alot). Inspired by work I’ve seen by graphic designers Illmatic and MediaOne, I chose to lay it out in a way that would be interesting and varied, to show the variety of culture and styles we have in Britain. This isn’t the final version, I’m not yet happy with the box at the bottom and it’ll be changed by my deadline on Thursday. Overall though I am quite pleased with it.

One response to “What is Britishness?

  1. I’m really liking the play on the typography of ‘Down’.

    I agree the bottom box isn’t really working. Since you have water dripping from the ‘r’, you could have it form a puddle at the bottom and write the ‘love weather…’ in that.

    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

